I’m a little embarrassed by how few female artists this blog has featured in recent weeks, so here’s a Picture of the Week by arguably Britain’s greatest living artist.  No tokenism here though, this is stunning…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who? Bridget Riley

What? Arrest 1, 1965

Where? Strangely enough, I don’t know, despite spending some time trying to find out (I shall happily add details of its home if anyone can let me know).  I do wonder if there’s something about abstract art that gives these images self-perpetuating lives of their own – on the internet at least it becomes very difficult to find the actual resting place of such works rather than just countless representations.  I’m not helping either.

However, while I don’t know if this work will feature, I am happy to point those curious to see more in the direction of the major Riley retrospective on now in Paris.  As far as I’m aware, the show at Le Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris will be the first major retrospective since this Tate show a few years ago.  If it’s even half as good, I can heartily recommend it.

When? The Paris show is open all summer and closes on the 14th of September.

Why? Well, for a start, only art curmudgeons can dislike Riley’s Op Art masterpieces.  And seeing them in person, with all the visual slipperiness and aloof charisma they exude, is always a treat.  Moreover, unlike countless other artists we could all think of, Riley’s recent output is still just as powerful as her earlier works – a bonus sample of her (colourful!) style from around the mid-’90s onwards is provided below – and unlike some (cough, Roy Liechtenstein, cough) she has managed to innovate through the gentle probing of self-imposed limitations and still create something fresh each time.

Riley fans might also be interested in a very rare interview recently conducted by the Guardian here.

